Self-Portrait!

Hello everyone! I would like to share with you what I consider one of my greatest achievements as of now… an oil paint self-portrait!

If you’ve noticed, I never upload any photos of myself because… well, I don’t actually know why, but I just don’t. But I decided to draw myself using oil paints. I consider it to be a great achievement because this piece is only my third time using oils, and portraits are extremely difficult. But I think that the final product has been done quite well!

So, without further ado, I would like to show it to you:

Portrait

I’m very proud of it! And I also took the in-progress photos because I wanted to share the progress with you.

IMG_3562 IMG_3518

I started with a burnt sienna undertone to mark the tonal differences and gradually built it up from there. I’m sure there are tens of layers on this painting, which makes it very rich.

This piece took about three months to complete. Wow. Now that I think about it, that’s a quarter of a year! I’m very happy that I finally have something decent to put on my About Me page 🙂

Till next time.

K

About The Empty Notebook

I'm a hopeful illustrator who wishes to change the world through art. I suppose, though, that I'll have to start simple - one sketch at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Self-Portrait!

  1. Specialsy says:

    This is absolutely amazing!!!

  2. Jihye Oh says:

    Looks really great, K-sister!!

    – Jay-Jay from Toronto

Leave a Reply

