Pagoda on Water

I got some wonderful Inktense blocks as a gift and was itching to use them, so I decided to use it for a beautiful photo my dad took when he was in Korea:

Reference photo

And here’s how it turned out!

Pagoda on Water

It turned out slightly brighter than actual photograph, but I suppose that screams “Springtime!” in my mind. I also only learnt the laws of reflection after I did this painting, so the reflections aren’t that accurate. On the bright side, though, I absolutely love how ink cannot be disturbed after it dries, unlike watercolor. It makes it worse when you make a mistake, but it gives great layering. Here’s how it looked like in the drafting phase, before I added water:

Draft

The tree area looks better, as it is drier and has more texture, but the leaves look better when wet. I guess I’ll do a mix of both next time.

Overall, the Inktense blocks work amazingly!

K

About The Empty Notebook

I'm a hopeful illustrator who wishes to change the world through art. I suppose, though, that I'll have to start simple - one sketch at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pagoda on Water

  1. Jihye Oh says:

    This picture really is so beautiful. Could you make another post of a piece that does follow the laws of reflection? I’m sure it would look amazing!

  2. Jihye Oh says:

    *even MORE amazing than the one you’ve already drawn 🙂

  3. That’s a great idea! I’ll do it as soon as I’m ready (or have time, whichever comes first 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

