Still Life – Charcoal

For the past week, I’ve been doing a serious piece in charcoal. It’s finally finished! I hadn’t used charcoal for a very long time, so it was nice relearn the techniques. I thought that charcoal would be similar to pencil or at least graphite, but that was not the case. It has a completely different feel of its own. Mainly, it’s much more smudgy (I almost ruined my piece more than once!) and therefore it blends well. It could, I suppose, be called the dry equivalent of oil paints. Here it is!

Still life

 

It’s not as refined as it should be, but it still passes as a finished piece. Charcoal was very fun to use, and I hope to do it again soon!

K

About The Empty Notebook

I'm a hopeful illustrator who wishes to change the world through art. I suppose, though, that I'll have to start simple - one sketch at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Still Life – Charcoal

  1. fizzyfizz says:

    Wow, you really good at using charcoal! Love the tone works. 🙂

  2. Thank you 🙂 I’m thinking of using it more often now that I’ve got the hang of it!

  3. fizzyfizz says:

    Yeah it’s really good haha!

Leave a Reply

