Leopard, Lion… what next?

I recently got a new mac! Goodbye Leopard, hello Lion! It’s two years since I’ve seen a new mac, and four years since I’ve used a new mac laptop. The new sensation of pressing the buttons on my keyboard, instead of whacking them in the hope that my computer will recognize the pressure, is delightful. And I can actually adjust the volume with my F10-12 buttons! (Translation: I can quickly kill the volume if I’m doing games instead of homework and my mom comes along!) Miraculous!

In addition to doing the functions that my old computer should have done, it also provides some new functions. Like swiping horizontally with three fingers moves between apps. And swiping with two in Safari goes between pages. I’m not sure what I think about the first function (as it only works when the app is full-screen?) but the second function is certainly useful.

On Photo Booth, there are lots of cute CG effects. Like hearts erupting from your head and birds circling above you, always following you, trying to peck you to death.

In regards to the appearance, the Lion seems rounder than my Leopard, which I think is cuter. And it looks thinner too, though I’m not sure how that affects the weight. The magnet installed at the edges of the base allow the laptop to close without making a small but apparent ‘tick’ sound. Thank goodness, because I was getting tired of that.

On the other hand, there are some new updates on the Lion that aren’t as useful as I thought (or not useful at all). For instance, there’s no key repeat. None. Nada. Like, I can’t say NO~ (with many ‘o’s) because I’d have to type every single ‘o’. Good for proper English, bad for FB slang. Apple says they have a reason for this, and say it’s for use of accents like à, è, or ç. I got these accents easily by holding on the letter in question and selecting the accent I wanted as I would in Pin Yin. But I think I’d use key repeat more often than accents. There were shortcuts for the accents previously too, anyway.

And the Mission Control isn’t organized neatly. Pressing my F9 button on my previous computer laid out all the current applications and programs I was using, spread out evenly. The Mission Control lays things over so that sometimes a program is hidden completely behind another and I forget that I ever opened it. This is especially worsened by the fact that I forget things every 5 minutes if I’m not reminded.

Nevertheless, I’m grateful that I have a new laptop, more so that’s it’s a good one. Keep on rocking, Apple!

About The Empty Notebook

I'm a hopeful illustrator who wishes to change the world through art. I suppose, though, that I'll have to start simple - one sketch at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Leopard, Lion… what next?

  1. Ann says:

    Lucky! Lion seems really good though compared to the previous ones 😀

  2. Haha, yeah. I guess the small cons are no competition to the great pros. 🙂

Leave a Reply

