Timeline – why FB should change the design back

First of all, I’d like to say that I’m sorry that it’s been almost 2 months since I last posted some nonsense. The only time I seem to be on WordPress is when I a) check my stats and b) browse through the humor section in Freshly Pressed. But enough of that!

I’d like to talk – or rather rant – about FB today. (For those of you who live in the 80’s, FB stands for Facebook. (My computer must live in the 80’s, because right now it is underlining Facebook in red, saying that it is the wrong spelling.)) FB has recently created a new design for people’s profiles/pages. I’m fine with that: it’s always good to have some choices, right? But, in fact, this new design limits your choices. FB is now enforcing this new design on everybody, regardless of preference.

I was fine with the new chat design, I was fine when they made pressing the key ‘enter’ publish a reply. Those modifications were actually quite useful. But this new design – Timeline – is just plain confusing. First of all, you need a ‘profile cover’? I already have a profile pic, what more do you need?! Now I need to browse through my camera, find a picture that won’t embarrass me, and edit it to fit the size requirements. That’s just plain tedious!

Secondly, Timeline is supposed to organize my posts better. But it doesn’t. All the dates are mixed up so I don’t know which one I (or anybody else, for that matter) posted first. For instance, I posted these two posts one after the other. Which one did I post first, a or b? (Roll over the pic to see the answer.)

This is why I don’t like Timeline. I suppose I’ll have to live with it, but if there’s ever a petition going on, I’m in!

K

About The Empty Notebook

I'm a hopeful illustrator who wishes to change the world through art. I suppose, though, that I'll have to start simple - one sketch at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

