My Top 5 Childhood TV Shows

After 3 or so weeks of contemplating on what to write, having a great idea, writing the title, then forgetting about it, I’ve finally hit the jackpot. And that’s in the title: my top 5 best childhood TV shows. Who doesn’t remember the countless meaningless songs that they ask you to repeat? Who doesn’t remember squealing in laughter at the so cliche jokes? And who doesn’t remember the morale that they always put at the end of the story, whether it matches with the plot or not?

I had forgotten about all these things, actually, until last weekend. I was sitting in the waiting room in the hospital (oh! the horror!) when a familiar ABC tune rocked the speakers. WTF?! I thought, as I slashed the tiny heroes on my iPhone. Who dare disturb my rampage?! I glanced at the little TV hanging on the wall, and my thoughts of killing immediately vanished. It was…

5) The Busy World of Richard Scarry!

Doesn’t anybody remember the unique ABC song of that show? The only one that didn’t have the melody of Twinkle Twinkle Little StarA is for apple, B is for bed, C is for crown that you wear on your head… Actually, that’s the only episode that I remember, the one where Richard Scarry and his friends learn the alphabet. But that’s how memorable it is!

4) Little Bear

Aw… how sweet. The pictures are so adorable! I just refreshed my mind reading the Wikipedia page (there are pages there for practically everything!) and I can remember almost all the characters! What a great memory I have!

3) Blues Clues

When he left the show for ‘college’, I cried so much. This was my favorite show! I even dedicated a chair to this show, called my ‘thinking chair’! How could he abandon me?! Well, I didn’t watch this after he left and his ‘brother’ came…

2) Madeleine

In an old house in Paris that was covered with vines, lived twelve little girls in two straight lines… the smallest one was Madeline! The cute little troublemaker who is so hard-headed. And this show actually helped me with French! Le chapeau, le chapeau… something to do with a horse losing his hat? I don’t know, but I do know that this was my favorite show!

1) Barney

Though I abhor his figure now, and cringe when his songs come out, I am told that I used to love this foamy dinosaur. Strange, no? I even went to his concert once, and cried when I was told that I wouldn’t be able to meet him. I guess that’s how much I loved him…

So there you have it! My top 5 favorite childhood TV shows! What are yours?

K

About The Empty Notebook

I'm a hopeful illustrator who wishes to change the world through art. I suppose, though, that I'll have to start simple - one sketch at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Top 5 Childhood TV Shows

  1. Fantastic goods from you, man. I have bear in mind your stuff prior to and you are simply extremely magnificent. I actually like what you have acquired here, really like what you’re stating and the best way through which you assert it. You are making it entertaining and you continue to take care of to stay it smart. I can not wait to learn much more from you. That is really a wonderful website.

  2. Very efficiently written post. It will be helpful to anybody who usess it, as well as yours truly :). Keep doing what you are doing – for sure i will check out more posts.

  3. I have to say that for the last couple of hours i have been hooked by the amazing articles on this website. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

