Pollution: not someone else’s story

I had done some homework and was coming out of my room to face… this big black cloud of smoke. At first I thought it was just a rain cloud, but the whole sky was filled with this oily smog.

I was shocked. Where had all these fumes come from? Turns out, there’s some sort of oil plant near my apartment, behind a building. They burn waste and the result is a massive bonfire and an ugly mass of pollution in the once-clear sky. And that’s only what you can see. What about the other invisible dangerous chemicals it produces? I had always thought that pollution was a foreign situation, something that wasn’t directly concerned with me. When I saw pictures like the ones below in the news, I would think: “oh, it’s a problem,” and promptly forget about it.

But I guess I should. So, here are a few ways to prevent, or at least slow down, pollution:

  • Recycling: using recycled objects to make new items takes less energy than making a new item from the start. Try to recycle glass, plastic, paper, and metal objects. Also, when going grocery shopping, bring your own bag instead of using paper or plastic ones every time.
  • Saving energy: turn off everything when you leave the room or house. Lights, computers, TV’s, air-conditioners, and other appliances all use energy even when you don’t use them. Factories burn fossil fuels and gas to produce electricity and this contributes greatly to air pollution. Turning off your appliances when you don’t use them will reduce air pollution.
  • Plant flowers and trees: plants like the philodendron, the chrysanthemum, and the golden pothos have been proved by NASA to absorb toxic chemicals and get rid of them, reducing the pollution in the air.
Pollution is not a someone else’s problem, it’s ours too. Let’s all contribute to stop pollution!
K
About The Empty Notebook

I'm a hopeful illustrator who wishes to change the world through art. I suppose, though, that I'll have to start simple - one sketch at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

