The Curse of the Newspaper House

It was a dreary night. A thick layer of fog surrounded everything, almost as heavy as the darkness. From my window I saw the newspaper house, haunting like always. It had been there since a couple of months ago. All the windows were covered with newspaper, as if nobody lived there. But, once a fortnight, a light, dim and dull, appeared. That was all … or at least I thought it was, until, a week ago. It was Friday night. The rest of my family had gone out for a movie. I was just looking out and spotted one of the windows of the newspaper house open. (Cue dark music from Psycho) BEEK BEEK BEEK! Yes, it was open! And, suddenly, a dark silhouette appeared and opened the windows one by one! The next thing I knew, he bended over and pulled something heavy. He looked as if he were struggling. What is it? Could it be? No it couldn’t! But what if?! Suddenly, I felt a stare. Gradually, I lifted my eyes to meet a pair of enquiring eyes. He slowly lifted his arm, unclenched his hand and … waved at me? Wait, a murderer waving?! I looked more closely, unable to believe my eyes, and it turned out to be our neighbor, back from his long trip. Oh, I thought to myself, that would explain the ‘heavy something’… He must have a lot of luggage! Smiling, I waved back at him and he turned around and retired into bed. Geez, I sure do have an awful imagination!

K

About The Empty Notebook

I'm a hopeful illustrator who wishes to change the world through art. I suppose, though, that I'll have to start simple - one sketch at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

