Rain

The rain lands on my window with a muffled sound. The drops on the glass pane look like little crystals against the dark, dark sky. Swirling so fast, you can hardly distinguish one splatter of water from another. It all looks like one big swirling gray mass. The gloomy clouds above watch as the drops fall down, to be merged into one big puddle, all the same and never known to be different…

On gloomy days like today, I wonder what adventurous thing could happen in all my life. Will I be cooped up in this house for the rest of eternity? When I grow up, will I be one of those secretary women in boring knee-length dresses and long-sleeved white blouses? Will I die miserably and all alone? But then I pick up my book on the bedside table and read, my brain registering the words as easy as if they were just pictures. I go to deserted islands, faraway lands and places out of this world. I feel love, hatred and betrayal. I get so immersed in the book that when the rain lets up, I don’t even notice. Then I finish the book and go out to have my own adventures.

About The Empty Notebook

I'm a hopeful illustrator who wishes to change the world through art. I suppose, though, that I'll have to start simple - one sketch at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

