Chinese New Year, the Lion Dance

What’s the first thing that comes to mind when you hear Chinese New Year? Lanterns? Tangerines? Cheongsams (the chinese dress)? Well, for me, I think of the Lion Dance! I just love how skilled the people who are inside the lion are. I mean, they jump up and down and they stand on each others shoulders to make the lion do all kinds of things. And the costume is glittery and made with a lot of care. But my favorite part of the dance is the humor that the people put into it. They nuzzle the audience and let kids pat them. Also, if you give them a tangerine, they eat it out of your hand. They make people laugh and I like that. However, this year, I was a bit disappointed. They only concentrated on dancing and, though the dance made me laugh a bit, the dancers didn’t really have contact with the audience. I still like it, though.

K

About The Empty Notebook

I'm a hopeful illustrator who wishes to change the world through art. I suppose, though, that I'll have to start simple - one sketch at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

