Television

Television is a wonderful thing, it helps us learn new things and is a very famous time killer. But recently, I’ve been noticing some bad things about T.V shows. Especially Disney Channel.

First of all, have you ever noticed that the Asians or African Americans get put into the sidekicks? And even if they do become the main character, they always have some weird things about them. Like “That’s so Raven” or “Wendy Wu, Homecoming Queen”. Tell me if I’m wrong but it does seem like that, doesn’t it?

Secondly, why is saving the planet bad? If you’ve seen Hannah Montana, you’ll know what I mean. You know Saint Sarah who tries to save the planet? Well, why does she get laughed at when she’s picking up litter and donating to the poor? Even if it’s a bit over, isn’t it good? Also, they said when she used recycling paper that it was made of elephant poop. Children will think that it really is true so, isn’t that bad?

Although Disney Channel is like this, Nickelodeon is not. They try to make kids recycle and made a competition for an SA on saving the planet. They also gave an award to the celebrity who tried to save the planet the most. 

Interesting things about T.V, huh? Who ever knew?

Tell me what you think!
K

About The Empty Notebook

I'm a hopeful illustrator who wishes to change the world through art. I suppose, though, that I'll have to start simple - one sketch at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Television

  1. Jihye Oh says:

    I think youRe so right.
    I just noticed it, now!

  2. ksister says:

    I’m glad you agree, Jihye.

    K

  3. J-Lee says:

    I don’t really agress with the first part, there’s nothing really wrong with being phsychic (okay – dont know how to spell it!) or being a warrior or whatever it is…That is the main plot of the actual programme!!!!!!!

  4. Cat Lover says:

    HI K!
    Just a note – this is me, Sophie, not a freaky person.
    But the first point isn’t that true… i mean, in High School musical, Gabriella is the smart one who gets into a good college with the basketball captain as her boyfriend. In Wizards of Waverly Place, Alex is the funny, witty one. In THATS SO RAVEN, Raven might be weird but it’s her non-Asian, Denmark friend – Aneliese Ver De Pol – that is the sidekick.

    but nickelodeon is great.

    SOPH
    AKA – CAT LOVER

  5. ksister says:

    I guess that’s a bit true.
    Nice to hear what you think!

    K

  6. J-Lee says:

    Yeah, I agree with Sophie, it’s not like Disney Channel is being racist to Asians or anything!

  7. J-Lee says:

    What is an SA?
    Don’t you mean essay?

  8. ksister says:

    Yep.

    K

  9. ksister says:

    Hate to debate, Soph but I have some objections.
    First of all, even if Gabriella is the main character, she is a geek (though a pretty one, no doubt).
    In Wizards of Waverly Place, she is a WIZARD, not a normal person.
    And finally in That’s So Raven, I did say IF they were a main character, they would be weird.

    Hope you see my point!
    K

Leave a Reply

