The Beginning

While checking my blog, I realized it had been quite a while since I’ve done anything for IF! Shocked, I immediately went to the IF homepage, checked their theme… and forgot about it.

However, I have joined the group 1hour1sketch on Twitter (which is a bit like IF, except there’s a time limit of 1 hour and it’s daily) and drew a quick sketch for it. I then saw that I could reuse the sketch and edit it to fit this week’s theme for IF: Space. Here it is!

Space

 

Linked to the Book of Genesis:

In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth. The earth was without form and void, and the darkness was over the face of the deep. And the Spirit of God was hovering over the face of the waters.

And God said, “Let there be light,” and there was light. And God saw that the light was good.

I did the background in Photoshop and the hands on paper in ink. I was so happy to do inking for the first time! Recently, I bought a Faber-Castell Artist Marker and used that for the first time. I’m very happy with it. Here’s the original inked sketch:

Magic

 

K

About The Empty Notebook

I'm a hopeful illustrator who wishes to change the world through art. I suppose, though, that I'll have to start simple - one sketch at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Beginning

  1. Jihye Oh says:

    This is beautiful, K! I love that light and the meaning too! Did you draw the light on photoshop or did you get some help from photoshop’s “light icon” if such thing exists

  2. Thank you so much! Haha, yes I did use the “light icon” (it does exist!) to get that effect. Quite cool, eh? :)

  3. Thank you! And sorry for the late reply: the comment section was acting up on me again.

Leave a Reply

