Tree in Snow

One of my resolutions for this blog was showing my work in progress, and I hope to do that today!

There’s a tree in front of my house that looks very nice in snow, so I thought I’d draw it with mixed media. The picture below is my first sketch done in color pencils. I’d also just bought a colorless blender that I tried and found that it worked really well!

Snow Tree 1

I then added in the background (watercolor), darkened up the tree, and blended the snow more with some black and white pastels. It turned out to be:

Snow Tree 2

I still don’t think it’s finished as the background looks a bit plain. Perhaps I’ll add some bushes in watercolor or another tree. Not sure yet. Any ideas to make it more interesting would be great!

K

About The Empty Notebook

I'm a hopeful illustrator who wishes to change the world through art. I suppose, though, that I'll have to start simple - one sketch at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tree in Snow

  1. Jihye Oh says:

    Looks great, K! I don’t know how your tree in your front lawn looks, but possibly add some snow on the tree? I googled “tree in snow”. :)

  2. Yes I think that is a great idea! I unfortunately made the mistake of not leaving any white spaces but perhaps I could add the snow in white acrylic. Thank you! :)

Leave a Reply

