Finally Done!

I do Art GCSE and have finally finished my coursework! After months of laboring over final touches, annotations, and what-not, I have completed my ‘final piece’.

The theme was ‘Similarities and Differences’. For this piece, I decided to “investigate the cultural significances of fruits in different literature pieces.” The first book I incorporated into my art was The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini. A symbol of this wonderful novel was pomegranates. As the main character’s friendship blooms, so does the pomegranate tree in front of the house. But as the friendship withers, so do the fruits decay. So, I put texts of this book into the background and then drew on top of it.

The second literature piece I investigated was The Schoolteacher’s Guest by Isabel Allende. The main character’s son is shot when trying to reach a mango from a neighbor’s garden. As the mango tree decays, the mother’s want of revenge grows.

Here are my final pieces!

It took a lot of work, but I’m quite proud of it.

K

About The Empty Notebook

I'm a hopeful illustrator who wishes to change the world through art. I suppose, though, that I'll have to start simple - one sketch at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finally Done!

  1. fizzyfizz says:

    This is great stuff. Good job!:)

  2. Thank you! Took a lot of time and effort :)

Leave a Reply

